Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

Once on this Island, Jesus Christ Superstar, and More nominated for 2019 Grammy Awards!

Once on this Island, Jesus Christ Superstar, and More nominated for 2019 Grammy Awards!

Share this article

The nominees for Best Musical Theater Album at the 2019 Grammy Awards have been released. The cast albums for Once on this Island, The Band’s Visit, Carousel, and My Fair Lady, as well as the soundtrack for Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert have all been nominated for the award.

The Band’s Visit won the most Tony Awards this year with 10, including Best Musical, while Once on this Island won the Tony for Best Revival of a Musical. Carousel won two Tony Awards including Best Featured Actress in a Musical for Lindsay Mendez, while My Fair Lady won for Best Costume Design in a Musical for Catherine Zuber. Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert won 5 out of 13 Emmy nominations including Outstanding Variety Special (Live).

According to the Grammy’s, these are the people eligible to receive the award:

For albums containing at least 51% playing time of new recordings. Award to the principle vocalist(s) and the album producer(s) of 51% or more playing time of the album. The lyricist(s) and composer(s) of a new score are eligible for an Award if they have written and/or composed a new score which comprises 51% or more playing time of the album.

    Etai Benson, Adam Kantor, Katrina Lenk & Ari’el Stachel, principal soloists; Dean Sharenow & David Yazbek, producers; David Yazbek, composer & lyricist (Original Broadway Cast)
    Renee Fleming, Alexander Gemignani, Joshua Henry, Lindsay Mendez & Jessie Mueller, principal soloists; Steven Epstein, producer (Richard Rodgers, composer; Oscar Hammerstein II, lyricist) (2018 Broadway Cast)
    Sara Bareilles, Alice Cooper, Ben Daniels, Brandon Victor Dixon, Erik Grönwall, Jin Ha, John Legend, Norm Lewis & Jason Tam, principal soloists; Harvey Mason, Jr., producer (Andrew Lloyd-Webber, composer; Tim Rice, lyricist) (Original Television Cast)
    Lauren Ambrose, Norbert Leo Butz & Harry Hadden-Paton, principal soloists; Andre Bishop, Van Dean, Hattie K. Jutagir, David Lai, Adam Siegel & Ted Sperling, producers (Frederick Loewe, composer; Alan Jay Lerner, lyricist) (2018 Broadway Cast)
    Phillip Boykin, Merle Dandridge, Quentin Earl Darrington, Hailey Kilgore, Kenita R. Miller, Alex Newell, Isaac Powell & Lea Salonga, principal soloists; Lynn Ahrens, Hunter Arnold, Ken Davenport, Stephen Flaherty & Elliot Scheiner, producers (Stephen Flaherty, composer; Lynn Ahrens, lyricist) (New Broadway Cast)

The 61 Grammy Awards is set to air on Feb. 10 on CBS. A local telecast has yet to be announced.

About the Author /


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for live coverage on theater events around the city. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for your first look at the hottest shows in town.

Post a Comment