Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

WATCH: ‘Lapulapu, Ang Datu ng Mactan’ Musical Releases Trailer

WATCH: ‘Lapulapu, Ang Datu ng Mactan’ Musical Releases Trailer

Share this article

The Metropolitan Theater’s upcoming musical, Lapulapu, Ang Datu ng Mactan, is set to be livestreamed at The Metropolitan Theater’s Facebook page tomorrow night (October 24) at 6pm!

The musical follows the Victory at Mactan in 1521, as told from the point of view of the mysterious Lapulapu, the circumnavigation of the world, as told from the point of view of the trip’s chronicler Juan Sebastian Elcano, and the arrival of Christianity in the Philippines, as seen from the lens of Reyna Juana. It is the maiden production at the newly restored MET Theater.

The show is written by Nicolas Pichay (libretto), with musical direction and arrangement by Krina Cayabyab, and directed by Dexter Santos. Aside from original songs written by Pichay and composed by Cayabyab, the show will also feature products of PhilPop Bootcamp 2019, in partnership with the National Quincentennial Committee, the National Historical Commission of the Philippines, and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts. These songs include “Kahayag” (Music and Lyrics by CJ Kaamiño); “Mactan” (Music and Lyrics by Kian Dionisio); “Baka Bukas” (Music and Lyrics by Thyro Alfaro, Yumi Lacsamana, Lara Maigue, Davey Langit, Marlon Barnuevo); and “Bagani “ (Music and Lyrics by Roel Rostata).

Also in the creative team are set and costume supplier Gino Gonzales, lighting director Dennis Marasigan, sound engineer Rards Corpus, video designer GA Fallarme, and choreographers Stephen Viñas and Kenneth Torres. Stage management is by Ed Murillo.

The cast features Arman Ferrer as Lapulapu, Andre Tiangco as Ferdinand Magellan, Red Nuestro as Rajah Humabon, Cara Barredo as Reyna Juana, Natasha Cabrera as Babaylan, Paw Castillo as Enrique de Malacca, Matthew Barbers as Juan Sebastian de Elcano, Al Gatmaitan as Antonio Pigafetta, and Ivan Niccolo Nery as Papa Alexander XI and Padre Pedro de Valderrama.

Joining them as members of the ensemble are Joshua Bajado, Jan Lloyd Celecio, MC Dela Cruz, Kirby Dunnzell, Jiny Jane Ferrer, Liway Gabo, Francis Gatmaytan, Mark Anthony Grantos, Maila Habagat, Mary Joy Herosa, John Neil Licuanan, Marynor Madamesila, Louise Meneses, and Brian Moreno.

The cast and the creative team put the entire show together in a 10-day lock-in shoot from September 26 to October 6, 2021. All of them tested negative for COVID-19 during their entrance and exit swab tests. You can watch some behind the scenes footage in the video below.

You can watch the official trailer below.

About the Author /


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for live coverage on theater events around the city. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for your first look at the hottest shows in town.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.