Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

WATCH: Full Olivier Awards 2024 is Now Online

WATCH: Full Olivier Awards 2024 is Now Online

Share this article

Hosted by Hannah Waddingham, the 2024 Olivier Awards took place at the Royal Albert Hall last April 14, 2024.

The biggest winner for the evening was Sunset Boulevard, which won 7 awards including Best Musical Revival, Best Actress in a Musical for Nicole Scherzinger, Best Actor in a Musical for Tom Francis, and Best Director for Jamie Lloyd.

The Olivier Awards for Best Actress and Best Actor went to Sarah Snook for her West End debut performance in The Picture Of Dorian Gray and Mark Gatiss for his role in The Motive And The Cue.

There were seven shows that had performances for the evening: four from all the Best New Musical nominees (The Little Big Things, Next to Normal, Operation Mincemeat, and A Strange Loop), and three from the Best Musical Revival nominees (Sunset Boulevard, Guys & Dolls, and Hadestown).

You can find the full list of winners below.

Best New Musical
Winner: Operation Mincemeat 

The Little Big Things
Next to Normal
A Strange Loop

Best New Play
Winner: Dear England
The Hills of California
The Motive and the Cue
Till the Stars Come Down

Best Musical Revival
Winner: Sunset Boulevard
Groundhog Day
Guys & Dolls

Best Revival
Winner: Vanya
The Effect
Shirley Valentine

Best Actress in a Musical
Winner: Nicole Scherzinger for Sunset Boulevard
Nathasha Hodgson for Operation Mincemeat
Caissie Levy for Next to Normal
Marisha Wallace for Guys & Dolls

Best Actor in a Musical
Winner: Tom Francis for Sunset Boulevard
David Cumming for Operation Mincemeat
Daniel Mays for Guys & Dolls
Charlie Stemp for Crazy for You

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Winner: Amy Trigg for The Little Big Things
Grace Hodgett Young for Sunset Boulevard
Zoë Roberts for Operation Mincemeat
Eleanor Worthington-Cox for Next to Normal

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Winner: Jak Malone for Operation Mincemeat
Cedric Neal for Guys & Dolls
David Thaxton for Sunset Boulevard
Jack Wolfe for Next to Normal

Best Actress
Winner: Sarah Snook for The Picture of Dorian Gray
Laura Donnelly for The Hills of California
Sophie Okonedo for Medea
Sarah Jessica Parker for Plaza Suite
Sheridan Smith for Shirley Valentine

Best Actor
Winner: Mark Gatiss for The Motive and the Cue
Joseph Fiennes for Dear England
James Norton for A Little Life
Andrew Scott for Vanya
David Tennant for Macbeth

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Winner: Haydn Gwynne for When Winston Went to War with the Wireless
Lorraine Ashbourne for Till the Stars Come Down
Priyanga Burford for An Enemy of the People
Gina McKee for Dear England
Tanya Reynolds for A Mirror

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Winner: Will Close for Dear England
Paul Hilton — An Enemy of the People
Giles Terera — Clyde’s
Luke Thompson – A Little Life
Zubin Varla — A Little Life

Best Director
Winner: Jamie Lloyd for Sunset Boulevard
Stephen Daldry and Justin Martin for Stranger Things: The First Shadow
Rupert Goold for Dear England
Sam Mendes for The Motive and the Cue

Best Costume Design
Winner: Marg Horwell for The Picture of Dorian Gray
Bunny Christie and Deborah Andrews for Guys & Dolls
Ryan Dawson Laight for La Cage Aux Folles
Hugh Durrant for Peter Pan

Best Sound Design
Winner: Adam Fisher for Sunset Boulevard
Paul Arditti for Stranger Things: The First Shadow
Dan Balfour and Tom Gibbins for Dear England
Gareth Fry for Macbeth

Best Theatre Choreographer
Winner: Arlene Phillips with James Cousins for Guys & Dolls
Fabian Aloise for Sunset Boulevard
Ellen Kane and Hannes Langolf for Dear England
Mark Smith for The Little Big Things
Susan Stroman for Crazy for You

Best Set Design
Winner: Miriam Buether for set design and 59 Productions for video design — Stranger Things: The First Shadow
Bunny Christie for set design — Guys & Dolls
Es Devlin for set design and Ash J Woodward for video design — Dear England
Soutra Gilmour for set design and Nathan Amzi and Joe Ransom for video design – Sunset Boulevard

Best Lighting Design
Winner: Jack Knowles for Sunset Boulevard
Jon Clark for Dear England
Jon Clark for Stranger Things: The First Shadow
Paule Constable for Guys & Dolls

Best New Entertainment or Comedy Play
Winner: Stranger Things: The First Shadow
Accidental Death of an Anarchist
Stephen Sondheim’s Old Friends
Vardy V Rooney: The Wagatha Christie Trial

Best Family Show
Winner: Dinosaur World Live
Bluey’s Big Play
The House With Chicken Legs
The Smeds and The Smoos

Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre
Winner: Sleepova — Bush Theatre
Blue Mist — Jerwood Theatre Upstairs, Royal Court Theatre
A Playlist for the Revolution — Bush Theatre
The Swell — Orange Tree Theatre
The Time Machine: A Comedy – Park Theatre

Outstanding Achievement in Opera
Winner: Antonio Pappano for his role as musical director of the Royal Opera House
Belarus Free Theatre Company for King Stakh’s Wild Hunt at the Barbican Centre
Marina Abramović for her concept and design of 7 Deaths of Maria Callas at the London Coliseum

Best New Opera Production
Winner: Innocence by Royal Opera
Blue by English National Opera
Picture a Day Like This by Royal Opera
The Rhinegold by English National Opera

Best New Dance Production
Winner: La Ruta — Sadler’s Wells
Broken Chord — Sadler’s Wells
The Rite of Spring — Sadler’s Wells
Time Spell — Sadler’s Wells

Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Winner: Isabela Coracy for her performance in NINA: By Whatever Means — Barbican Theatre
Jonzi D for his artistic direction of Breakin’ Convention 2023 International Festival of Hip Hop Dance Theatre — Sadler’s Wells
Rhiannon Faith for conception of Lay Down Your Burdens — Pit at Barbican

Outstanding Musical Contribution
Winner: Alan Williams for musical supervision and musical direction — Sunset Boulevard 
Tom Brady for musical supervision and arrangements and Charlie Rosen for orchestrations — Guys & Dolls
Matt Brind for musical supervisions, orchestrations, and arrangements — Just for One Day
Steve Sidwell for orchestrations and Joe Bunker for musical direction — Operation Mincemeat

You can watch the full show below.

About the Author /


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for live coverage on theater events around the city. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for your first look at the hottest shows in town.