Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

WATCH: 14th Gawad Buhay Awards 2024 Performances are Now Online

WATCH: 14th Gawad Buhay Awards 2024 Performances are Now Online

Share this article

The 14th Gawad Buhay Awards, hosted by Kakki Teodoro and Benedix Ramos, has just concluded, with PETA’s Walang Aray winning the most awards with eight, followed by Barefoot Theatre Collaborative’s The Last Five Years and Tanghalang Pilipino’s Nekropolis with four each.

The awarding ceremony was staged at the PETA Theater Center on July 9, 2024. In between the awards, there were a total of six performances.

The first number was an opening medley, which helped us recall the hard year when the shows were forced to close during the pandemic, and celebrated the year of revenge theater in 2023.

Included in the 20-minute performance are:

1. Kinahinatnan ng Tanghalan (original song. Text, Layeta Bucoy; Music, Joed Balsamo)
Performed by Tanghalang Pilipino Actors’ Company Scholars:
Earvin Estioco
Anya Evangelista
Heber O’Hara

2. 9 Works Theatrical’s Tick, Tick, Boom!: “No More”
Performed by:
Jef Flores (Jon)
Reb Atadero (Michael)

3. PETA’s Walang Aray: “Pangako Yan” (Rody Vera/Vince Lim)
Performed by:
Shaira Opsimar and Marynor Madamesila (Julia)
Gio Gahol and Jon Abella (Tenyong)

4. Tanghalang Pilipino’s Sandosenang Sapatos: Tinatawid ng Pagmamahal ang Panaginip (Layeta Bucoy/Noel Cabangon + Joed Balsamo)

Performed by:
Tex Ordoñez-de Leon (Nanay)
Floyd Tena (Tatay)
Felicity Kyle Napuli and
Wincess Jem Yana (Susie)

5. Culturtain’s Ang Larawan: Kakalabanin Natin ang Mundo (Rolando Tinio/Ryan Cayabyab)
Performed by: Tex Ordoñez-de Leon (Candida)
Shiela Valderrama-Martinez (Paula)

6. Full House Theater Company’s Ang Huling El Bimbo: Alapaap (Eraserheads)
Performed by: Anthony Rosaldo (Young Hector)
Topper Fabregas ( Young Anthony)
Paw Castillo (Young Emman)
Gab Pangilinan (Young Joy)


The second number was “Iisa ang Tibok” from Alice Reyes Dance Company’s “Rama, Hari”, performed by Arman Ferrer with dancer Ejay Arisola (Rama), and Shiela Valderrama-Martinez with dancer Monica Gana (Sita).


The third number was the In Memoriam segment that honored the theater artists that we’ve lost over the past year. Vic Robinson led the tribute with the song “Lakambini” from Ballet Philippines’ “Neo-Filipino: Rock Supremo.”


The fourth number was Scene XV from Floy Quintos’ “Atang”, performed by Shamaine Centenera-Buencamino (Atang) and Anya Evangelista (Gia). The excerpt is to honor the late playwright as this year’s recipient of the Natatanging Gawad Buhay Lifetime Achievement Award.


The fifth number was a medley of Filipino musicals, all from or coming in 2024.

1. Barefoot Theatre Collaborative’s Bar Boys: “Lakompake” (Pat Valera/Myke Salomon)
Performed by: Benedix Ramos (Erik)

2. Repertory Philippines’ Jepoy and the Magic Circle: “I Heard” (Rody Vera/Ejay Yatco)
Performed by: Noel Comia Jr. (Jepoy)

3. Tanghalang Pilipino’s Pingkian, Isang Musikal: “Ikaw ang Liwanag” (Juan Ekis/Ejay Yatco)

Performed by:
Vic Robinson (Emilio Jacinto)
Gab Pangilinan (Catalina)

4. PETA’s One More Chance: “Pagtingin” (Ben&Ben)

Performed by:
CJ Navato (Popoy)
Anna Luna (Basha)
Jon Abella (JP)
Poppert Bernadas (Kenneth)

5. Full House Theater Company’s Buruguduystunstugudunstuy: “Don’t Think” (Parokya ni Edgar)

Performed by:
Tex Ordoñez-de Leon (Norma)
Felicity Kyle Napuli (Aiza)
Marynor Madamesila (Jen)


The sixth and final performance was a closing medley featuring some of the young, up-and-coming artists of the theater.

1. Sa Tanghalan ng Kalaayan (original song. Text, Layeta Bucoy; Music, Joed Balsamo)

Performed by: Earvin Estioco
Angelo Molina
Murline Uddin
And the TP Actors’ Company Scholars

2. Nandito Pa Rin Ako (original song for Musikal 2. Music/Lyrics by Vince de Jesus)

Performed by: Tanghalang Pilipino Actors’ Company Scholars
With the PETA Actors-Teachers
And full company


The 2024 Gawad Buhay Awards was directed by Aaron Veloso, who also served as the evening’s scriptwriter. He was joined by Lhorvie Nuevo-Tadioan (Assistant Director), Joed Balsamo (Musical Director), Reg Yuson (Trophy Designer), and Joseph Matheu (Lighting Director). Balsamo was also the conductor for the Special Gawad Buhay Ensemble, who served as the live orchestra for the evening.

About the Author /


Follow us @theaterfansmnl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube for live coverage on theater events around the city.