Dulaang UP stages Haunting Play ‘​Ang Dalagita’y ‘sang Bagay na Di-buo’


Ang Dalagita’y ‘sang Bagay Na Di-buo

On its 42nd Theatre Season, Dulaang UP brings to the Philippine stage Eimear McBride’s haunting novel ​A Girl is a Half-formed Thing ​(Goldsmith Prize Award 2013)​ ​billed as ​Ang Dalagita’y ‘sang Bagay Na Di-Buo ​in Filipino. Translated by​ ​Rody Vera’s, the play is based on Annie Ryan’s stage adaptation of the critically-acclaimed novel, originally staged by The Corn Exchange Theatre Company in 2014.

Ang Dalagita’y ‘sang Bagay Na Di-buo tells in fragmented, poetic, and partly ambiguous language, the tragic life of a Girl, who has been repeatedly abused by her uncle, who loses her beloved brother, grapples with the wicked religiosity of her mother, and increasingly finds herself in that corner of her life where no option is left.​ Ang Dalgita’y ‘sang Bagay na Di-buo ​ is a harrowing piece that lays bare in no delicate terms, the appalling iniquity of sexual abuse and power.

Skyzx Labastilla, Missy Maramara, and Opaline Santos alternate as the Girl in this Philippine premiere of the production. The performance is a rare opportunity to catch a powerful rendition of a gut-wrenching novel.

Ang Dalagita’y ‘sang Bagay Na Di-buo ​ is also part of the University of the Philippines Diliman’s participation in the National Arts Month billed as​Kat(h)awan: Bodies, Society, Culture. ​ The play opens on 21 February and will run until 11 March (Wednesdays to Fridays at 7:00 pm; Saturdays and Sundays at 10:00 am and 3:00 pm) at the Wilfrido Ma. Guerrero Theater, 2​nd​ Floor Palma Hall, University of the Philippines, Diliman, Quezon City. Tickets are at P500.

The Philippine premiere of ​A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing ​ (​Ang Dalagita’y ‘sang Bagay Na Di-buo) ​ is directed by José Estrella and presented through the Wylie Agency (UK) Ltd.

The schedule of the run will be as follows:

First Week
February 21 (Wednesday) – 7 P.M.
February 22 (Thursday) – 7 P.M.
February 23 (Friday) – 7 P.M.
February 24 (Saturday) – 10 A.M.
February 24 (Saturday) – 3 P.M.
February 25 (Sunday) – 10 A.M.
February 25 (Sunday) – 3 P.M.

Second Week
February 28 (Wednesday) – 7 P.M.
March 1 (Thursday) – 7 P.M.
March 2 (Friday) – 7 P.M.
March 3 (Saturday) – 10 A.M.
March 3 (Saturday) – 3 P.M.
March 4 (Sunday) – 10 A.M.
March 4 (Sunday) – 3 P.M.

Third Week
March 6 (Tuesday) – 7 P.M.
March 7 (Wednesday) – 7 P.M.
March 8 (Thursday) – 7 P.M.
March 9 (Friday) – 7 P.M.
March 10 (Saturday) – 10 A.M.
March 10 (Saturday) – 3 P.M.
March 11 (Sunday) – 10 A.M.
March 11 (Sunday) – 3 P.M

For inquiries and other details, please message or call Ms. Camille Guevera at 09178239531 or email at ​dupguevara@gmail.com​.

Previous 'A Comedy of Tenors' Opens REP's 2018 Season
Next 'Ang Larawan' Opens in US Cinemas