Andrew Scott to Star in Streamed Play, ‘Three Kings’


Photo Credit: Fleabag on Facebook

Andrew Scott (Sherlock, Fleabag) will be starring in Three Kings, a new play to be streamed live from the Old Vic theatre in the UK.

Written by Stephen Beresford especially for Scott, Three Kings is centered on Patrick, a man who reflects on a memorable encounter with his father and the series of events influenced by this. It explores the dynamics between fathers and sons, the consequences of inheritance, and the complexities of human relationships. 

The production will be directed by Matthew Warchus with whom Scott worked on Present Laughter last year. The performance will be streamed live via Zoom directly from the Old Vic stage with the empty auditorium as the backdrop. 

Advertisement

This production will be part of the Old Vic: In Camera initiative where the theatre provides digital content during the global pandemic. Since the Old Vic is a charity that receives no regular subsidy, this is their way of replacing box office income.

Tickets for the stream cost between  £10 and £40 and are available on the Old Vic website.

Update as of July 31: The Old Vic has rescheduled the livestream after Andrew Scott had to be hospitalised for “minor surgery.” The theatre reassures the public that “the issue isn’t serious (or COVID-19 related) and we are expecting Andrew to have a speedy recovery. He sends his love and apologies and says he’ll see everyone next week.”

The new dates will be August 7 and 8. There will be two performances on August 7 at 7:30 PM UK time (2:30 AM Manila time) with a matinee on August 8 at 3:30 PM UK time (10:30 PM Manila time). 

Previous "Real-Life Fairytales" Musical to Stream for Free
Next WATCH: Disney’s “Tangled: The Musical” is Online